Imphal West district was created in 1997 out of the erstwhile Imphal district by transferring all the villages and towns of Imphal West I and Imphal West II sub – divisions vide Government of Manipur (Secretariate) Revenue Department Order No. 6/1/73-R(Pt-VIII) dated 17th June,1997 under the Manipur Land Revenue and Land Reforms Act of 1960. Along with the creation of this district Imphal West I Sub-Division was also bifurcated into Lamshang Sub-Division and Patsoi Sub-Division while Imphal West II Sub-Division was bifurcated into Lamphelpat Sub-Division and Wangoi Sub-Division under the same notification bringing the total number of Sub-Division to four. The district has four Community Development Blocks, namely, Hiyangthang Block, Lamsang Block, Patsoi Block and Wangoi Block. The Sub-Divisions are further divided into ten circles. Lamshang Sub-Division has 3 circles (Sekmai, Lamshang and Salam), Patsoi Sub-Division has 2 circles (Konthoujam and Patsoi), Lamphelpat Sub-Division has onecircle (Lamphel Central) and Wangoi Sub-Division has 4 circles (Wangoi, Mayang Imphal, Hiyangthang and Lilong)